End-of-Life Doula Training Supports Dementia Care with Gentle Passage Doula Collective

[ad_1]

End-of-Life Doula Training Supports Dementia Care with Gentle Passage Doula Collective

Listen Live or Listen at Your Convenience Tuesday September 19th, 2023 2 pm EST, 1 pm CST, 12 pm MST, 11 am PST & 7 pm London GMT, 9 pm South Africa SAST, and on the 20th at 6 am in Australia AEDT

Lori La Bey talks with the Gentle Passage Doula Collective. Today we will hear from Bonnie Blachly, Kathy Bates, Kathleen Putnam, and Colleen Hewes.  Each is an End-of-Life Doula providing exceptional service to families dealing with the loss of a loved one. Below is a bit about each of our guests.

Bonnie Blachly is a Registered Nurse and End-of-Life Doula with 40+ years of experience in long-term care, home health, and nursing education. She developed a Partners-in-Care interdisciplinary team model to support residents with dementia and their families to navigate the healthcare and social systems as their disease progresses and their needs change.  

Kathy Bates is a Social Worker, Geriatric Mental Health Specialist, End-of-Life Doula, and Educator with more than 35 years of experience working with those with Dementia and their loved ones in a variety of settings.  She guides and supports those facing life-threatening illnesses, and terminal diagnosis including Dementia emotionally, spiritually, and psychologically to help diminish fear and anxiety at the end of life.

Kathleen Putnam is a Master of Nutrition with 30+ years of experience as a dietitian, End-of-Life Doula, educator, and coach. She helps families and individuals navigate through the grieving process as health, self-care, and situations change through end of life aiming to reduce suffering and prioritize what is most meaningful.

Colleen Hewes is an RN and End-of-Life Doula with specialties in Geriatric and Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing. She is an End of  Life Doula and Conscious Dying Educator promoting a death-positive culture by encouraging people to embrace each and every precious moment of their lives.

Maureen Kures is a Registered Nurse and End-of-Life Doula with over 35+ years of expertise in Oncology, Bone Marrow Transplant, ICU, and Hospice care. She is dedicated to helping people get their end-of-life wishes documented and discussed while they can still make the decisions that are important to them. ((Maureen was unable to join us)

Learn About:

  1. Living well through the end
  2. Understanding the emotional effects of dealing with the end of life for yourself or another
  3. Family dynamics
  4. Allowing people to live authentically to the end
  5. The benefits of being curious vs. judgmental
  6. Supporting the range of emotions
  7. Life reviews
  8. Reminiscing
  9. Resolving unfinished business
  10. 10.VSED

Contact The Gentle Passage Doula Collective

A Different Kind of Doula TV Show

Lori La Bey on A Different Kind of Doula TV Show

Alzheimer’s Speaks Radio – Shifting dementia care from crisis to comfort worldwide one episode at a time by raising all voices and delivering sound news, not just sound bites since 2011.

Order Your Book Now – A Great Gift For Anyone At Any Age

Betty the Bald Chicken – Lessons in How to Care is a wonderful tool for anyone struggling and feeling like they don’t fit in anymore. Bullying, Chronic Illness, Addiction, Divorce, Death & Dying, Ageism, Racism, and more.

Paperback 978-1-952976-86-5 Hardcover 978-1-952976-87-2

Library of Congress Control Number: 2022948781

Learn More About Alzheimer’s Speaks Below

Lori La Bey and Alzheimer’s Speaks Can Help Your Organization With Staff Training, Family Support, Perspective Clients, and Support Gatherings.

[ad_2]

Source_link

Leave a Comment